• An Oscar is 13 ½ inches tall.
  • The red carpet is about 33 feet wide and 500 feet long.
  • The first Academy Awards were held on May 16, 1929, when movies had just begun to talk.
  • There have been 2,658 Oscars handed out since the first Academy Awards.
  • Winners are forbidden to sell their statuette without first offering them to the Academy.
  • Only three movies have so far received record 11 Oscars – Ben Hur (1959), Titanic (1997) and The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003).
  • There were 306 films eligible for nominations this year.
  • Kazakhstan is a first-time nominee in the foreign film division with “Mongol.”
  • A total of 63 countries submitted entries for the foreign language category.
  • More than 100 photographers will be on the red carpet
  • Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: