IPL Teams – Bangalore Royal Challengers

Bangalore Royal Challengers is the team that is going to represent the city of Bangalore in the Indian Premier League, the inaugural Twenty20 cricket tournament to be held in India. The team is owned by the liquor magnate Vijay Mallya, the chairman of UB Group. Charu Sharma is the CEO of the team and Rahul Dravid, the captain of the team is the Icon Player. Martin Crowe, the former New Zealand captain, has also been signed as a member of the management team. Venkatesh Prasad, the former Indian fast bowler and the present bowling coach of India has been declared the coach for the team.

Bangalore team was won by Vijay Mallya, who paid US$111.6 million for it. This was the second highest bid for a team in the IPL, next only to Mukesh Ambani’s Reliance Industries’ bid of $111.9 million for the Mumbai team.

Indian actresses Deepika Padukone and Katrina Kaif were signed as the brand ambassadors of the franchise.

Vijay Mallya wanted to associate one of his top-selling liquor brands, either ‘No. 1 McDowell’s’ or ‘Royal Challenge’ with the team. Ultimately, ‘Royal Challenge’ was chosen, and hence the team was given the name ‘Bangalore Royal Challengers’. The jersey colours of the team are red and golden yellow, and the logo consists of the RC emblem with ‘Bangalore Royal Challengers’ in standard format.


The players in the team (except for Rahul Dravid, who was the Icon Player), were selected in an auction conducted by BCCI on 20 February 2008. South Africa’s Jacques Kallis at $900,000 became the costliest player to be selected to play for the Royal Challengers. This meant that Rahul Dravid, being the Icon Player would be paid $1,035,000 (15% more than the highest bid player in the team). Other players selected included the Indian Test cricket captain Anil Kumble along with his team-mates Praveen Kumar and Zaheer Khan, West Indian Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Aussies Nathan Bracken and Cameron White, South Africa’s Mark Boucher (Wicket Keeper) and Dale Steyn.
Name – Age – Country – Position

Rahul Dravid (Captain/Icon Player) – 35 – India – Right-handed Batsman
Shivnarine Chanderpaul – 33 – West Indies – Left-handed Batsman
Wasim Jaffer – 30 – India – Right-handed Batsman
Misbah-ul-Haq – 33 – Pakistan – Right-handed Batsman
Ross Taylor – 24 – New Zealand – Right-handed Batsman
Arun Kumar J. – 33 – India – Right-handed Batsman
Appanna K. P. – 19 – India – Right-handed Batsman
Bharat Chipli – 25 – India – Right-handed Batsman

Wicket Keepers
Mark Boucher – 31 – South Africa – Right-handed Batsman / Wicket keeper
Shreevats Goswami – 18 – India – Left-hand Batsman / Wicket keeper
Devraj Patil – 23 – India – Right-handed Batsman / Wicket keeper

Jacques Kallis – 32 – South Africa – Right-arm fast-medium
Cameron White – 24 – Australia – Right-handed Leg-break googly
Sunil Joshi – 37 – India – Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox spin
Akhil B. – 30 – India – Right-arm medium-fast
Virat Kohli – 19 – India – Right-arm medium

Anil Kumble – 37 – India – Right-arm leg-break googly
Zaheer Khan – 29 – India – Left-arm medium-fast
Nathan Bracken – 30 – Australia – Left-arm fast-medium
Dale Steyn – 24 – South Africa – Right-arm fast
Praveen Kumar – 21 – India – Right-arm medium-fast
Abdur Razzak – 25 – Bangladesh – Slow left-arm orthodox
Vinay Kumar R. – 24 – India – Right-arm medium-fast

Administration and coaching staff

Front Office:
Owner- Vijay Mallya
CEO – Charu Sharma
Adviser – Martin Crowe

Head Coach – Venkatesh Prasad
Assistant Head Coach – TBA
Physiotherapist – TBA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: