IPL Teams – Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians will be representative of the city of Mumbai in the Indian Premier League. The team will be led by Sachin Tendulkar, also the Icon Player for the team and coached by Lalchand Rajput, the former Manager of the Indian Cricket Team.

Reliance Industries Limited through its subsidiary Reliance Retail Ltd purchased the rights for the Mumbai franchise of Indian Premier league for a total of $111.9 million during the auction on January 24, 2008. The RIL bid has made the Mumbai Indians the most expensive franchise in IPL.

The team logo has the Sudarshan Chakra with the team’s name engraved in it. The team’s colour will be blue. The choice of the name “Indians” for a regional competition is widely regarded as a blunder.

The mascot is still unknown.

Sachin Tendulkar is the designated icon player and also captain for Mumbai Indians. During the player auction Mumbai Indians successfully bid for 7 players, including two of the heroes of Indian Twenty-20 world cup side in Harbhajan Singh and Robin Uthappa. Sanath Jayasuriya was also another prized catch, along with South African legend Shaun Pollock. The team also added the Sri Lankan speedster Lasith Malinga.

Outside of the player auction, the franchise has also signed up Ajinkya Rahane and Abhishek Nayar (from Mumbai), Yogesh Takawale (from Maharashtra) and Pinal Shah (from Baroda)
Name – Age – Country – Position

Sachin Tendulkar (Captain) – 35 – India – Right-handed Batsman
Robin Uthappa – 22 – India – Right-handed Batsman
Loots Botsman – 30 – South Africa – Right-handed Batsman
Ashley Prince – 30 – South Africa – Left-handed Batsman
Manish Pandey – 18 – India – Right-handed Batsman
Saurabh Tiwari – 18 – India – Left-handed Batsman

Wicket Keepers
Yogesh Takawale – 23 – India – Right-handed Batsman – Wicket keeper
Pinal Shah – 20 – India – Right-handed Batsman – Wicket keeper

All Rounders
Sanath Jayasuriya – 37 – Sri Lanka – Slow left-arm orthodox spin
Shaun Pollock – 35 – South Africa – Right-arm medium-fast
Ajinkya Rahane – 19 – India – Right-arm medium

Harbhajan Singh – 27 – India – Right-arm off-break
Lasith Malinga – 24 – Sri Lanka – Right-arm fast
Dilhara Fernando – 29 – Sri Lanka – Right-arm fast-medium
Abhishek Nayar – 24 – India – Right-arm medium-fast
Ashish Nehra – 28 – India – Left-arm fast-medium

Administration and Coaching staffFront Office:

Owner – Reliance Industries Limited
CEO – R Balachandran
President – Mukesh Ambani

Head Coach – Lalchand Rajput
Assistant Head Coach – TBA
Physiotherapist – TBA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: